Personal Injury Claims Lawyer in Jacksonville
Representation for Victims of Negligence in Duval and St. Johns Counties
If you suffer an injury, no matter how severe it is, your life will likely change. According to the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration, there were over 144,000 non-fatal injury hospitalizations in the state in 2019. Whether you are forced to take a couple of days off work or can’t work for months while you recover, your day-to-day life may be altered for a long time.
The party who is at fault for your injury should be held responsible for the negative impacts on your life. When an injury occurs due to negligence or an accident, it’s important that you find an attorney whom you can trust to advocate for your needs. With years of experience as personal injury attorneys in Jacksonville, FL, we can help you file your claim and pursue the financial compensation you need for your injuries, property damage, and any additional pain and suffering you’ve been forced to endure.
Call (904) 587-4446 or reach out to Glober + Glober Attorneys, P.A. online to learn more about how we can help you with your case.
Florida Personal Injury Claims
If you are planning to file a personal injury claim in Florida, you must do so within four years after the date of the accident (in most cases). Shorter deadlines apply in some circumstances, such as in claims for professional malpractice, wrongful death, and claims against public entities such as cities or the state. This is generally referred to as the statute of limitations.
It’s important to keep in mind that if you are filing a claim against the local or state government in Florida, you have to put the government on notice well before the statute of limitations passes. It’s critical that you pay attention to the statute of limitations and other deadlines. You should ask your lawyer for advice, because different types of injuries have different timeframes for filing claims.
There are several other key factors to keep in mind when you are considering filing a personal injury claim due to negligence or an accident:
Florida is considered a no-fault car accident state. This means that regardless of who caused the accident, your own insurance policy will provide compensation for specific out-of-pocket losses, such as lost income and medical bills. Most no-fault policies have the minimum coverage limits allowed by law, which is $10,000.
Because most no-fault insurance policies are relatively small, often people with serious injuries file bodily injury claims in addition to no-fault claims. Bodily injury claims require an injured person to prove that someone else caused their injuries, but bodily injury claims have the potential of providing far more compensation than the typical $10,000 that standard no-fault insurance policies offer.
Damages Available in Florida
Depending on your case, you may be able to receive punitive damages that go beyond reimbursement for the medical and lost income costs associated with your injuries. The purpose of punitive damages is to punish a wrongdoer who recklessly or intentionally harms someone. The amount of compensation you could receive for your personal injury depends on the specific circumstances of your case.
Florida has limits on punitive damages. In most common situations, like car accidents and slip and fall injuries, Florida has set a cap. In these cases, the total punitive damages you can receive is generally equal to either three times the amount of the compensation you are awarded, or up to $500,000, whichever amount is greater. If you are unsure about the amount of damages you would be eligible to receive, it’s best to consult an experienced Jacksonville personal injury lawyer who can answer all your questions and address any concerns you may have.
Work with a Jacksonville Personal Injury Attorney You Can Trust
When you suffer a personal injury, the process of receiving compensation for your medical expenses and lost income can be difficult and stressful. The last thing you want to worry about during your recovery process is overcoming the stress and anxiety of a legal case.
That’s why we’ve spent years working with individuals and families across the entire state of Florida to help them pursue the compensation they need after an accident. If you or someone you know has been injured and is looking for reliable legal guidance, contact Glober + Glober Attorneys, P.A. today to schedule a free case consultation. Together, we can discuss the unique details of your case and outline a plan to pursue the justice you deserve.
There is no need to navigate the complex waters of personal injury law alone. Glober + Glober can help you pursue financial compensation for the negative impact a personal injury has had on your life. We take every step to present the strongest case for personal injury victims.
Contact us today to learn about how our personal injury claims lawyers in Jacksonville, FL can help you with your case.
Florida’s Pure Comparative Negligence Rule
If you are found to have any level of fault for the accident, you will own some part of liability. The state of Florida applies the comparative negligence rule to all personal injury cases. This means that if you made a small mistake that contributed to the accident, any compensation you collect will be reduced to account for your level of fault.
For example, imagine you are injured in an auto accident after another driver decided to change lanes without looking and ran you off the road. However, dashcam footage shows that you were speeding at the time of the accident. The court may rule that your excessive speed contributed to the accident and assign you with 20% fault. If the court ultimately decides to award you $100,000 in compensation, that number will be reduced by 20%, or $20,000, to account for your level of fault in causing the accident. This means that you would only be eligible to collect $80,000.
Bringing a Personal Injury Claim in Florida
If you’ve suffered a personal injury, you have to prove that the defendant owed you a duty of care that they did not fulfill. You must then prove that their failure to uphold that duty of care resulted in damage to you.
PIP Coverage in Florida
Your car insurance policy should include personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This is the coverage that will reimburse you for specific out-of-pocket expenses like medical bills and lost income, even if you were at fault for the car accident. Florida automobile policies have PIP coverage.
attorneys dedicated to you
$1.2 Million Car Crash
$1.1 Million Fatal Alcohol Sale to Minor
$1.06 Million Truck Accident
“Best decision I could have made” - Brian D.
“Would recommend to anyone!” - Mimi V.
“Very Transparent” - Ryan M.